3 Spiritual Lessons from HIMYM

Confession: I’ve been on a serious HIMYM kick lately (Thanks, Netflix.) We’re talking a season a week, here. As I’ve been watching, I can’t help but draw some parallels between the show and my own spiritual life. That probably sounds strange, seeing that HIMYM isn’t a faith-based show or anything, but I’m inclined to believe spiritual lessons are all around us if we’re willing to be open-minded. With that being said, I present to you 3 spiritual lessons from HIMYM.

1.     It’s okay to be scared.

“Doesn’t being scared let you know you’re onto something important?” – Ted

Ted

Think back to the last time you took a leap of faith and followed God’s calling. Whether it was something huge, like becoming a missionary, or something small, like joining a church, there’s a good chance you felt nervous and maybe even a little scared before taking the plunge. Don’t let that stop you. Just as Ted points out, being scared means  there’s a good chance something big is about to happen.

2.     Mistakes happen.

“There are certain things in life where you know it’s a mistake but you don’t really know it’s a mistake because the only way to really know it’s a mistake is to make that mistake and look back and say, ‘Yup. That was a mistake.’” – Lily

Lily

Not everything in life is black-and-white, and it’s so easy to get confused in the gray. Romans 3:23 reminds us that no one is perfect, and we are absolutely, 100% guaranteed to make mistakes. When you do, don’t wallow in regret and self-loathing. Sometimes you just have to say, “Yup. That was a mistake,” and carry on (Romans 6:6.) Remember, God can use even the biggest mistakes for his glory.

3.     It’s all about the journey.

“You can’t jump straight to the end. The journey is the best part.” – Robin

Robin

David, a man after God’s own heart, wasn’t always a spiritual hero. Neither was Jonah, Peter, Mary Magdalene and plenty of other Sunday-school superstars. It’s no secret that every spiritual life has its ups and downs, and a good testimony isn’t just a snapshot of the ups. Like a good book, your story takes time to develop. So be patient, rejoice in today (Psalm 118:24) and make the most of your spiritual journey.

I hope that you found something worthwhile in this post. If you have absolutely no idea  who Ted, Lily and Robin are, I suggest you get yourself a Netflix subscription and dedicate a weekend or two to a truly fabulous show. If you have absolutely no idea who Jonah, Peter and Mary are, might I suggest you hit up an online Bible and dedicate a weekend or two to some truly inspirational stories. Now that you’ve read my post, I have a question for you.

You know that I think it’s possible to find religious value in nonreligious places, but do you agree? Tell me what you think in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “3 Spiritual Lessons from HIMYM

  1. Interestingly enough, I have a bible study right after my Engineering Leadership class and sometimes (all the time) I feel like such a nerd. I secretly and subtly try to take picture of some of the lecture slides. Many of the values and lessons the Harvard School of Business teaches are the same values that can be found in the Bible. Everyone from Adam to Joshua (what we’re currently on) has represented some aspect of growing into a leader, which is no surprise at all considering the feats in their lives.

    It’s surprisingly close how the engineering or business world can relate so closely with events that tool place so long ago.

  2. Whoo! I also think you can find God in seemingly random places. I was watching Solomon Kane the other day (why yes I am a Netflix addict too). At first I was ok, sure, medieval fights and an attractive actor… I don’t know if you’ve seen it but I’m unfortunately gonna spoil it, but when the movie starts, Kane is an evil crude pirate. He finds out the his soul was sold to the devil and it’s time for him to collect. Well to get away from that, Kane turns to everything. Witchcraft, voodoo, other creepy stuff, and finally Christianity, where he finds sanctuary and peace. He renounces violence and leads a peaceful life, though since his soul was sold he can live a life of peace, but is still going to Hell. (Yes that’s a bit fishy, bear with me, there’s a lining to that too.)

    Before I finish what is turning out to be a full length summary (and perhaps this will end up as my own blog post), I just want to say how amazing is that?! He was an evil man, his soul was sold to satan himself, and yet he still found peace and was protected by God because Kane choose to follow Him and live a life a violence free life.

    Continuing with summary, (is this getting long or what?). He ends up staying at a Monastery, but after a long while one of the priests there gets a vision that Kane needs to leave. So he goes a walking.. and a walking… and a walking. Finally he meets this family. A wonderful traveling family with a wonderful relationship with God. They take Kane in and all is well on the road… until creepy demon possessed people start killing a bunch of people or enslaving them. (Yeah I don’t know either.) But the amazing part is coming up.

    First though know that everyone but the Mother and Daughter are killed by creepy demon possessed people and go home to meet the good Lord.

    So now the point: God gives Solomon Kane, whose soul is sold to the devil, a chance to be redeemed. All he has to do is follow His will and save the daughter.

    Now to me, saving the daughter to save his soul is rather irrelevant. It’s the fact that God saved his soul after it being sold to the devil. Now keeping in mind that this is a fictional movie, there are so many examples in the bible (Noah, The Prodigal Son, Hosea’s wife, ect.) where God shows amazing, absolutely amazing forgiveness to anyone who lays everything at his feet and dedicates their life to Him.

    …So that started at as a normal comment I swear… and it was just about choosing a random movie and getting a wonderful message from it.

    Well I hope you’re not terrified by the length, heh, and I do hope you’ve gotten something from it. Please have a blessed day!

    • I have actually never heard of that before! I would definitely be interested in watching it, though. I’m definitely not terrified by the length of your comment, and I quite enjoyed reading it. That is such a cool story! You should definitely spin that into a blog post. I’m glad someone else had a similar experience too.

  3. Pingback: Simply Blessed

  4. I like this. I was raised Methodist, went to a fundamentalist Christian school for most of my pre-college education, went to vacation bible school and kanakuk during the summer growing up… in other words I’ve received a lot of church as a kid. Looking back now though, I think I was possibly ‘overchurched’. Being underchurched is bad but I think being overchurched is equally unhealthly for a young person’s spiritual life. Overchurched side effects on a young person include: familiar stories lose their power, becoming prideful with the amount of knowledge one has about the bible, having learned to pretend pray, not noticing one’s lostness, seeing the flaws of people involved in the ‘church business’.
    Thus, I’m a non-practicing Methodist. I do love jesus christ but i have a jaded view of people involved in the ‘church business’. I don’t hate church but I only occasionally go because the services usually tend to feel formulaic and dry. The sermons usually tend to make me say to myself ‘I’ve heard this lesson
    already’. So yes, I tend to find God in the most unlikely places. That movie ‘Solomon kane’ is a great example. I love creative storytelling because it allows me to explore and learn spiritual messages in a fresh new way. Even when a moving image(movie or tv show), novel or comic book has nothing to do with God it’s interesting how things correlate. I’m not familiar with this tv show you described but I will check it out. I’m familiar with Jonah and david. Mary magdalene, sort of, and Peter, not at all. I will have to read up on them like you recommend.
    I like how you write about religion(Christianity). You manage to discuss it in a way that’s deep and
    relevant to an overchurched person like myself. Keep up the good work.

    • Jason,
      That is such an incredible compliment. Thank you so much for the taking the time to tell your story. I can certainly relate to that “overchurching” you talk about. I’m convinced God can reveal himself in a whole slew of ways, and if something gets your spiritual wheels turning, isn’t that a good thing? I think so. Anyways, thanks for taking the time to share. I really enjoyed reading it!

Leave a Reply

